Global Leadership Council

Our Global Leadership Council is a diverse coalition of global leaders focused on ensuring optimal impact of GEAPP’s philanthropic capital.

GEAPP’s Global Leadership Council (GLC) is a diverse of coalition of nearly two dozen global leaders coming together to tackle the most challenging barriers to scaling just energy transitions worldwide and keep global warming below 1.5 degrees Celsius.

The GLC is a critical and impartial platform to start advancing solutions, including driving down the cost of clean energy technologies, delivering locally owned Just Energy Transition Partnerships (JET-Ps), and building carbon credits for coal decommissioning. The GLC will be a forum to galvanize action on a more ambitious, urgent, and inclusive global renewable energy agenda.

Collectively this forum will shape the global agenda on these critical issues, strengthen our collective actions, and ensure optimal impact of GEAPP’s philanthropic capital.

The GLC is co-chaired by Jonas Gahr Støre, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Norway, and Dr. Rajiv J. Shah, President of The Rockefeller Foundation.

The Global Energy Alliance for People and Planet (GEAPP) Global Leadership Council

  • Jonas Støre

    Kingdom of Norway - Prime Minister 

  • Rajiv Shah

    The Rockefeller Foundation - President

  • Achim Steiner

    United National Development Programme - Administrator

  • Ajay Mathur

    International Solar Alliance - Director-General

  • Akinwumi Adesina

    African Development Bank Group - President

  • Andrew Steer

    Bezos Earth Fund - President and CEO

  • Anne Finucane

    Bank of America - Chairman, Bank of America Europe

  • Børge Brende

    World Economic - Forum President

  • Damilola Ogunbiyi

    Sustainable Energy for All

  • David Malpass

    World Bank Group - President

  • Fatih Birol

    International Energy Agency - Executive Director

  • Francesco La Camera

    International Renewable Energy Agency - Director-General

  • Jonathan Berman

    DRE Ventures - Chairman of DRE Ventures - Chief Executive Officer Shell Foundation

  • Jules Kortenhorst

    RMI - Chief Executive Officer

  • Kelly Sims Gallagher

    Tufts University - Dean of Energy and Environmental Policy

  • Mark Carrato

    USAID - Coordinator, Power Africa

  • Mauricio Claver-Carone

    Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) - President

  • Nick O’Donohoe

    British International Investment - Chief Executive Officer

  • Patricia Espinosa

    Executive Secretary -United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)

  • Per Heggenes

    IKEA Foundation - Chief Executive Officer

  • Rania Al-Mashat

    Arab Republic of Egypt - Minister of International Cooperation

  • Ravi Venkatesan

    Global Energy Alliance for People and Planet Board Chair

  • Roberto Cingolani

    Republic of Italy - Minister for Ecological Transition

  • Vera Songwe

    United Nations High Level Climate Panel - Co-Chair

  • Werner Hoyer

    European Investment Bank - President